Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby FedeOmoto » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:25 am

Hi!

At our company we're developing a VoD app for Philips Smart TVs and we're having problems while trying to play Smooth Streaming + PlayReady content.
In the HTML5 video tag, if we set the src attribute to a manifest file with Smooth Streaming content (WHITHOUT PlayReady) it's played OK, but if the Manifest file specifies content with PlayReady the content is not played.

Out Philips TV is a 6000 model from this year, I understand that it has support for PlayReady.

Is there something special we've to do to play Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady?

Thank you in advance,

Federico Omoto
FedeOmoto
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby Support_STA » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:04 am

Moved from SDK section to App development.

If you're developing for STA specification, please check if you're using the correct MIME value for the type attribute for the <video> object. It should always be the MIME for the streaming method which is chosen. For Smooth Streaming it should be: application/vnd.ms-sstr+xml.

Regards,
STA QA
Support_STA
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:56 am

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby FedeOmoto » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:57 am

Thank you for the quick answer.
Yes, we're developing for STA specification, also, as I already said we're able to play Smooth Streaming content but NOT Smooth Streaming with PlayReady.

The video tag we're using is:

<video id="videoobj" type="application/vnd.ms-sstr+xml" src="http://server/Manifest" style="height: 288px; width: 352px;"></video>

Do we need to use the oipfDrmAgent object for PlayReady? Reading the documentation it should be handled transparently by the html 5 video object right?

Thanks,
Federico Omoto
FedeOmoto
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby Support_STA » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:07 am

Correct, the use of the oipfDrmAgent object (for PlayReady) is optional. The most standard way to playback is indeed very simple:
- Use <video> element
- Use correct MIME for the 'type' attribute value of <video> element
- Set the 'src' value of <video> element
- call play() on the <video> element

Are you sure the license server behaves as expected and provides a valid license? You could try network analysis software to exactly see what is happening (i.e. what the license server is exactly returning). For Philips, make sure that the length of the LA_URL in WRMHEADER does not exceed 1024 bytes.

Hope this helps.

STA QA
Support_STA
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:56 am

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby mautilus » Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:06 am

Hi Federico,

Did you succeed? We have similar problems with SmoothStreaming/PlayReady on latest Toshiba CloudTV and Philips NetTV devices. The encryption, encoding and license acquisition should be configured properly since we are able to playback the content on Windows Phone 8, Windows 8 and Samsung Smart TV devices.

We are working on finding where the problems could be
mautilus
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:41 am

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby FedeOmoto » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:26 am

Hi mautilus,

Yes, we were able to solve the problem. It turns out that our license servers needed some custom data, and sending that solved the problem :oops:
That's for LG, but now we can't play PlayReady + Smooth Streaming content on Philips Smart TVs (same code). It works OK for SS content without DRM.
I'll post in another thread to see if someone has a clue...

Regards,
Federico Omoto
FedeOmoto
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Playback of Smooth Streaming content with PlayReady

Postby mautilus » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:56 pm

Hi Federico,

On LG the PlayReady works fine for us as well. On Philips w have never tried that as there we are using Widevine - but we have problems with models based on MTK board.

We have still problems on Toshiba...

STeN
mautilus
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:41 am


Return to App development questions



cron