LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

Postby pcramer » Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:19 am

Dear all,

the Diversity Handling Documentation states that the onscreen-keyboard provided by the OS must be used for some LG and Toshiba devices.

However, the developer needs to supply a custom onscreen-keyboard for devices which do not supply their own keyboard. To minimize differences between devices, I would like to use my custom-keyboard on all platforms, including said LG and Toshiba devices.

While this will work technically, I'd like to make sure the app will not be rejected because of this decision. Do you consider tihs a violation of the guidlines?

Thank you and kind regards
pcramer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:49 am

LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

Postby Support_STA » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:08 am

Hi,

In case, making a on-screen keyboard is absolutely imposible.
Aside, you need consider some things here:
- What is your input element?
- Is it always shown?
- If you use a textbox to input value, please consider its default behaviour on browser (shown default on-screen keyboard when pressing OK button).

Regards,
STA Support
Support_STA
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:56 am

LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

Postby pcramer » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:21 am

Thank you very much for your response.
In case, making a on-screen keyboard is absolutely imposible.
Please clarify. Is it allowed to use a handmade software-keyboard on devices which provide their own software-keyboard or not?
pcramer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:49 am

LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

Postby Support_STA » Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:15 pm

Hi,

It's absolutely impossible.

Regards,
STA Support
Support_STA
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:56 am

LG & Toshiba onscreen-keyboard

Postby aisaia » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:33 am

Hello,

You can create an on-screen keyboard and use it instead of the Toshiba native keyboad, but there is a problem: you need to disable the element (otherwise the native keyboard shows up), and this brings 2 (more or less) unwanted side-effects:
- the cursor does not show up in the input
- you lose input support from mobile remote controls
aisaia
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:52 am


Return to App development questions



cron